2019 General Membership Meeting & Installation of Officers: Celebrating the Dedication of Our Physician Leaders

More than 130 physicians joined us on Wednesday night for networking, education, collegiality, and to celebrate medicine in Montgomery County. To view the event album, click here.

The General Membership Meeting began with our annual installation of officers. Out-going president Carolyn B. O’Conor, M.D. was honored for providing inspiring vision, dedication and commitment to Montgomery County Medical Society during a time of rapid change in our county’s practice environment and community. Outgoing Board Members Mindi Cohen, D.O., Hesum Chegini, M.D., and Naeem Poursharif, D.O. were thanked for their service.  Past President and Board Member of 40 years Joseph Snyder, M.D., received a presidential award recognizing his extraordinary service.

President Carolyn O’Conor, M.D. then took time to honor the following members for their 25 and 40 years of commitment to MCMS & MedChi.

25 Year Members: James Gardiner, M.D., Robert Karp, M.D., Robert Klug, M.D., Daniel Marder, M.D., Stephen Pappas, M.D., Jeffrey Perlmutter, M.D., and Glenn Sandler, M.D.

40 Year Members: Neil Barkin, M.D., James Brodsky, M.D., Raymond Coleman, M.D., Alan Gober, M.D., David Levine, M.D., Frank Mayo, M.D., and Peter Sherer, M.D.

Senator Chris Van Hollen joined us to install Lawrence Green, M.D. and our 2019-20 Officers. Dr. Green then spoke about his vision for the Society over the next year, emphasizing the importance of physician advocacy in our county, state, and across the nation. He closed his remarks with a call for attendees to make a donation of $25 to the Physicians’ Resource Network, in recognition of this no cost, confidential counseling program, which 25 local physicians have already accessed in a time of need.

Even if you weren’t at the meeting, you can still join us in supporting the Foundation. Donate now!

A Big Thank You to our Resources Reception Exhibitors & Sponsors

* MCMS Physician Connect Members

Are you a lucky prize winner?

The winner of the General Membership Meeting Door Prize is Matthew Mintz, M.D, who won a Seasons Oil & Vinegar Gift Basket.

Our Resources Expo exhibitors had some great prizes for those who participated on Wednesday night. Congrats to the winners! You should be hearing from the vendors soon to deliver your prizes.

Company Prize Winner
Advanced Nursing & Home Support $50 Massage Gift Card Swaroop G. Rao, M.D., Ph.D.
Advanced Nursing & Home Support $75 Del Frisco’s Gift Card Victor G. Lowe
Brooke Grove Retirement Village Snacks, Chocolate, Nuts & More! Kayla Spaur
Debra Levy Eldercare Associates DLEA Cup, Ice/Hot Pack, Notepad, Phone Holder Sara Tavakoli


District Mobile Dental Sonicare Johny Edappully, M.D.
District Mobile Dental Sonicare George Malouf, M.D.
Doctors’ Choice Medical Services $100 Visa Gift Card Annette Pham, M.D.
Doctors’ Choice Medical Services $50 Visa Gift Card Ben Stallings, M.D.
DrFirst Df-branded Power Bank Christina Cervieri, M.D.
DrFirst Dre Beats Headphones Bailey Cannon, M.D.
Handcraft Healthcare Linen Services $100 Gift Card Johny Edappully, M.D.
Maryland Proton Treatment Center Kentucky Derby Basket Bailey Cannon, M.D.
MedChi Insurance Agency Chocolate Basket from Balducci’s Kayla Spaur
Paragon Private Health Basket of Starbucks Coffee, Godiva Chocolate, and Bottle of Red Wine Kelly Tanenholz, M.D.
Payroll Services, LLC Wine Basket Geoff Coleman, M.D.
Renew Me Fitness Free Month of Small Group Training Amy Byer, M.D.
Shady Grove Radiology $50 American Express Gift Card Sonya Kella, M.D.
West Financial Services $50 Amazon Gift Card Michael Gnatt, M.D.